Projet de portrait de l’EPI

#EPIPhotoPortrait

Partagez le sourire derrière l'EPI

The ICUBP would not be able to operate the PPE Portrait Project without the incredibly generous donations / printing services from Business Box.

Le projet de portrait de l’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) est une intervention hybride artistique & médicale conçue pour améliorer les soins offerts aux patients et la dynamique d’équipe en humanisant l’apparence effrayante de l’EPI par le simple biais de photos portraits souriantes et chaleureuses apposé sur la surface extérieure de l’EPI.​

 

Ce projet a été initialement conçue par Mary Beth Heffernan en réponse à la pandémie d’Ébola en Afrique de l’Ouest. Au début de la pandémie de la COVID-19, le projet a pris de l'ampleur dans les centres médicaux du monde entier. L'équipe du PLUSI a contacté Mary Beth Heffernan pour ses conseils dans la mise en œuvre de cette initiative dans les unités de soins intensifs de Montréal.

 

Ces portraits ont été très bien reçu tout autant par les patients que le personnel soignant. Voici une vidéo entrevue par CBC : https://www.cbc.ca/player/play/1760124483625 ou bien cette radio entrevue par Daybreak Montreal : https://www.cbc.ca/listen/live-radio/1-15-daybreak-montreal

L’intention de ces portraits est de :

  1. Réduire l’isolement et la peur ressentie par les patients

  2. Établir un point fort de confiance et d’attachement avec le personnel soignant

  3. Aider les patients à identifier de visage l’individu qui les soigne

  4. Humaniser le personnel soignant et améliorer davantage la dynamique d’équipe
     

En bref, en apposant un portrait à l’EPI de la personne soignante, on peut apporter une expression, une compassion et un lien humaniste bien nécessaires à une situation autrement effrayante et accablante.​

Pour réserver votre portrait EPI à Montréal, cliquez ici: icubp.org/ppe

Pour aider à financer le projet EPI, le PLUSI sollicite des dons en échange de masques PLUSI réutilisables. Découvrez ci-dessous!

PPE Portraits By The Numbers:

403

Hospital Staff 

Participating

7

Hospital Sites

18

Different

Professions

4

Canadian 

Cities

Portraits EPI en Action:

PPE Portraits Canada

The project has gained a lot of traction and has now expanded to other Canadian cities (Saskatoon, Toronto, Hamilton, Ottawa)!

To reserve your PPE portrait in any of these locations, click here:

icubp.org/ppeCanada

To help support the project, click here: https://ppeportraits.raisely.com/

Masques du Programme Liaison de l’Unité des Soins Intensifs (PLUSI)

Placez vos commandes ici!

www.icubp.org/masks

Afin de contribuer au financement du Projet de Portrait EPI, nous introduisons des masques faciaux réutilisables et non médicaux du Programme Liaison USI pour un don minimum de 5$. Passez vos commandes via www.icubp.org/masks pour représenter le PLUSI à la mode!

 

En réponse à la pandémie mondiale et à la politique de masque obligatoire récemment mise en œuvre au Québec, le PLUSI fournisse des masques à la disposition de la communauté Montréalaise à un tarif abordable tout en soutenant les efforts des programmes visant à améliorer les soins aux patients grâce au projet EPI.

 

Si vous n'avez pas besoin de masque mais que vous souhaitez tout de même soutenir les initiatives du PLUSI, vous pouvez également faire un don directement au programme via https://www.icubridgeprogram.org/donate.

 

Merci à tous ceux qui soutiennent notre projet EPI et portent nos masques!

 

Journaux électroniques

L'USI est souvent un environnement particulièrement émotionnel et stressant pour les patients et leurs familles. Les patients dans un état critique sont souvent intubés et sous sédation pendant de longues périodes de temps. Ainsi, les patients ont souvent de la difficulté à se rappeler de certains événements ou de différencier les rêves de la réalité. De nombreux patients et leurs familles développent « Post Intensive Care Syndrome (PICS) », qui inclue ​des problèmes de santé mentale, tels que le trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT), l'anxiété et la dépression.

Le but de l'initiative des journaux électroniques de l'USI est d'aborder ce problème en continuant le récit de la vie du patient durant cette période difficile.

 

En d'autres termes, un journal de l'USI est un journal électronique décrivant le séjour du patient à l'USI. Il ne s'agit pas d'un dossier médical, mais d'un registre dans lequel les membres de la famille et le personnel de l'USI peuvent relater leurs pensées. Les entrées du journal sont généralement rédigées par des visiteurs ou des infirmières, avec l'aide des bénévoles du Programme de Liaison de l'USI. Ils peuvent inclure:

  • Des vœux et des réflexions des visiteurs

  • Des photos du progrès du patient

  • Un vidéo des premiers pas du patient

  • De simples événements de tous les jours tels que des mises à jour de la famille, la météo, des nouvelles sportives ...

 

Les bénévoles du Programme de Liaison de l'USI aideront à gérer les entrées de journal en fournissant une tablette aux familles intéressées et en leurs montrant comment fonctionne l'application du journal (comment accéder au journal, comment ajouter des photos / vidéos / enregistrements audio, etc.).

 

Après leur sortie de l'USI, la lecture des entrées du journal de l’USI peut être utile pendant la longue période de rétablissement. Des études montrent que les journaux aident les patients et leurs familles à mieux intégrer leur expérience de la maladie, et à réduire l'incidence du trouble de stress post-traumatique.

L'exemple ci-dessus est fictif

 

Humains de l'hôpital (HDLH)

Bonjour, je m'appelle Nafisa et je suis étudiante à Concordia en neuroscience comportementale. Les humains de l’hôpital est un photoblog qui mettra en vedette toutes sortes de personnes qui font du bénévolat ou qui travaillent dans le cadre de l'équipe du programme de pont de l'USI. Je pense qu'il y a cette idée fausse que si vous êtes dans les sciences, vous n'êtes probablement pas intéressé par les arts et vice-versa. Devinez quoi? C'est possible et en fait plus commun que vous ne le pensez! La photographie est un excellent moyen de transmettre une idée complexe en une seule image fixe. Il est plus facile et plus profond de voir les émotions de quelqu'un à travers d’un photographe pour comprendre ce qu'il exprime, que de lire à son sujet dans un article. La photographie a toujours été l'une de mes passions et quelle meilleure façon de l'explorer que de l'utiliser pour transmettre les histoires des hommes et des femmes qui travaillent dur dans nos hôpitaux et dans le Programme de pont de l'USI? Restez à l'écoute!

PPE Portrait Project

#PPEProject

Share the smile behind the PPE

The ICUBP would not be able to operate the PPE Portrait Project without the incredibly generous donations / printing services from Business Box.

The Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Portrait Project is a hybrid art and medical intervention designed to improve patient care and team dynamics by humanizing the alienating appearance of PPE, through warm and smiling headshot portraits fixed to the outside of a healthcare worker's PPE.

 

The PPE Portrait Project was created by Mary Beth Heffernan in response to the 2014-16 Ebola epidemic in West Africa. At the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, the project gained more momentum at medical centres around the world. The ICUBP team reached out to Mary Beth Heffernan for her guidance in implementing this initiative in Montreal ICUs.

PPE Portraits have been very well received by patients as well as staff. Check out this video interview from CBC: https://www.cbc.ca/player/play/1760124483625 

or this radio interview from Daybreak Montreal: https://www.cbc.ca/listen/live-radio/1-15-daybreak-montreal

The purpose of these portraits is to:

  1. Reduce patient isolation and fear

  2. Increase trust and connection with the healthcare worker 

  3. Increase patient awareness of who is taking care of them

  4. Humanize healthcare workers and increase team dynamics

In short, by adding portraits to a healthcare provider's PPE, we can bring some much needed expression, compassion, and humanistic connection to an otherwise scary and overwhelming situation.

To reserve your PPE portrait in Montreal, click here: icubp.org/ppe

To help fund the PPE Project, the ICUBP is asking for donations in exchange for reusable ICUBP masks. Check out below!

PPE Portraits By The Numbers:

403

Hospital Staff 

Participating

7

Hospital Sites

18

Different

Professions

4

Canadian 

Cities

PPE Portraits in Action:

PPE Portraits Canada

The project has gained a lot of traction and has now expanded to other Canadian cities (Saskatoon, Toronto, Hamilton, Ottawa)!

To reserve your PPE portrait in any of these locations, click here:

icubp.org/ppeCanada

To help support the project, click here: https://ppeportraits.raisely.com/

ICU Bridge Program Masks

Place your order here! www.icubp.org/masks

In order to help fund the PPE project we are introducing reusable, non-medical ICU Bridge Program face masks for a minimum donation of $5. Place your orders via www.icubp.org/masks to represent the ICUBP in style!

In response to the global pandemic and the recently implemented mandatory mask policy in Quebec, the ICUBP is making masks available to the Montréal community at an affordable donation rate while also supporting the programs efforts in improving patient care through the PPE Project.

 

If you do not need a mask but would still like to support the ICUBP's initiatives, you can also donate directly to the program via https://www.icubridgeprogram.org/donate

Thank you to everyone supporting our PPE Project and wearing our masks! 

 

ICU Journals

The ICU is often an incredibly emotional and stressful environment for both patients and their families. Patients in critical condition are often intubated and sedated for long periods of time. This makes it difficult for patients to recall certain events or differentiate between delusions and reality. Many patients and their families develop Post Intensive Care Syndrome (PICS), which includes mental health issues, such as Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), anxiety, and depression.

The goal of the ICU journals initiative is to address this issue by continuing and restoring the patient’s life narrative in this very difficult period of time.

 

In other words, an ICU journal is an electronic journal documenting the patient’s stay at the ICU. It is not a medical record, but a ledger to which family members and ICU staff may contribute thoughts that they feel may later be helpful to the patient. Journal entries are typically written by visitors or nurses, with the help of ICU Bridge Program volunteers. They may include:

  • Wishes and reflections from visitors

  • Pictures of the patient's progress

  • A video of the patient's first steps

  • Simple everyday events such as updates from the family, the weather outside, sports news…

 

The ICU Bridge Program volunteers will assist in managing journal entries by providing a tablet to interested families and showing them how the diary application works (how to access the appropriate journal, how to add photos/videos/audio recordings, etc).

 

After they are discharged from the ICU, reading and reviewing ICU journal entries can be valuable during the long road to recovery. Studies show that the diaries help patients and families understand and integrate their illness experience better, as well as reduce the incidence of PTSD.

The example below is fictitious, but illustrates the powerful effect that our electronic journals can have.

 

Humans of the Hospital (HOTH)

Hi, my name is Nafisa and I am a Concordia student in Behavioural Neuroscience. Humans of the Hospital is a photoblog that will be featuring all kinds of people who either volunteer or work as part of the ICU Bridge Program team. I feel that there is this misconception that if you are in the sciences, you are probably not interested in the arts and vice-versa. Guess what? It is possible and in fact more common than you think! Photography is a superb way to convey a complex idea into a single still image. It is easier and more profound to see someone’s emotions through a photograph to understand what he or she is expressing, than to read about them in an article. Photography has always been one of my passions and what better way to explore it further than using it to convey the stories of the hardworking men and women in our hospitals and the ICU Bridge Program? Stay tuned!